Pre-1997 Models

Newbie here....

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2004, 02:22 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie here....

Just got a '94 F-150 with the I6.

It squealed like a banshee and ran a bit rough. I cleaned the injectors (Thanks PKRWUD!) and topped up the power steering fluid (it was empty) and all's well.

It's going to the dealer today for maintenance and a full check-up.

Living in Ontario I've never owned a vehicle more than three years old, and you rarely see anything over 5 years on the road. This one seems to be in very good shape considering its age. I got it from a guy who lived north of Lake Superior, so it hasn't seen too much salt.

This is gonna be fun.

Chris

Old 10-25-2004, 06:06 PM
Welcome to the site!

BTW, you have an excellent name!!!

Take care,
~Chris

Old 10-29-2004, 12:24 AM
Thanks.

I think I'll be here a fair bit. My truck has seen a few Ontario winters.

The body is in great shape, with no rust that I can find but there are parts that are near dust. I'm amazed it still runs. It sat for six months before I got it and it looks like hasn't had any maintenance in at least a year. I've replaced all the fluids right off the bat, but every hose is cracked or rusted. It leaks oil, gas, and ate a bottle of power steering fluid in a week. I knew when I got it that there would be some work involved. Thing is, I'm not sure where to start.

I'm thinking a new pressure and return hose for the PS will be step one. After that, replace the rusted-to-dust rear fuel tank and replace a stuck fuel filter. So far the tank looks like the only fuel leak. It lost 1/2 tank in a day. After that I'm not sure. I've only had it a week, so I'll be watching to see how fast it loses oil. Maybe the air & vaccum hoses or maybe the oil. Dunno. I'm a computer guy. I'm no mechanic. Apart from all the leaky hoses everything works well enough.