How long should Zaino last?

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2004, 12:27 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How long should Zaino last?

I put three coats of zaino on my truck in mid december when it was in the upper 40's. I used the zfx (? the add in accelerator) and did the wash, clay, wash, dry treatment before hand. After 3 months it seems like the zaino is worn off. Water does not really bead on the paint anymore and forms more of a sheet of water. I have washed about 3 times with the zaino wash and used the detailing spray (#7 I think) after I wash. I was under the impression that the zaino should last a lot longer than this. I was wondering if it could be that I applied it when it was kind of cold out or if this is how long it typically lasts. Any insight would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!!

Old 04-03-2004, 02:30 PM
I have been using Zaino for the about 2 years now. My last truck was the same color you have, silver.

With 3 – 5 coats on it would last about 6 months and that was through winter with the road salt and grime and about 15 – 20 car washes (touchless) not hand wash because it was to cold.

I am not real sure how synthetic polishes like Zaino work as far as temperature and if that affects how they bond to the paint. However I do recall reading that Zaino can be applied in temperatures as low as 45 degrees F.

Now before you first used Zaino did you use Dawn dishwashing soap for the first wash? If you didn’t use Dawn then you may have not got all the “possible” wax and oils off the paint for the Zaino to bond properly. You can’t use Zaino car wash for the first wash because it won’t strip old wax off the paint. Claying will not remove all the old wax either so about the only way to guarantee that the paint is free of any old wax is to use Dawn dishwashing soap to insure any old wax is stripped off.

Old 04-03-2004, 02:44 PM
Florida-150,