Thinking about re-powering....

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2012, 09:01 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thinking about re-powering....

I have a 2001 F150 with the 5.4. She's got 177k on her now, still runs pretty damn good I must say. I recently bought a bigger boat (22' Cuddy) that's pretty heavy for her to pull BUT she does it. I was considering buying another truck but I LOVE my truck. I have a DVD/NAV (Used for watching ScoobyDoo as I have a 5 ye old) and remote start and OBVIOUSLY 4 doors with leather blah blah...I was considering a 250 or something along those lines. OR a SC Harley. But really, I'd really like to throw some money at it and keep it. I'd like to possibly re-power it; maybe a rebuild and a sc and cosmetic crap. I'm a good mechanical tech; I build and repair gable-top packaging machines for a living.

The question is this; is there a "usual" way people go about this? I'd like to have some decent HP like a lightning but I really want to be able to drive it and pull my boat with no fails or issues. Is a newer 5.4 swapout a suggestion or should I rebuild my old motor with some bulletproof parts and a charger to get my HP numbers? I have a Ford tyranny guy so that's no issue; I also have a company car and my motorcycle if I have a few days of down-time. Anybody got any good suggestions? Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks fellas!

Old 05-19-2012, 09:06 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts
How heavy is it? My 5four pulled a car hauler most of it's life and it turned 300,000 miles recently. Original trans, - just run the good stuff in it.

I've never needed more power, but yes, it would of been nice at times. You could put a supercharger on top. Allot of people do that here.

Harley charger or lightning is a bolt on and tune.

Old 05-19-2012, 09:09 PM

Yea, you want a "roots" blower for pulling. For that power above idle.

Old 05-19-2012, 09:22 PM