5W20 vs 5w30

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2010, 10:50 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
5W20 vs 5w30

Hey, I have a 2006 with a 5.4. I usually have a hard problem finding 5W20 synthetic, well 7L of it at a time anyway, was wondering if I could switch to 5W30. I don't know a whole lot about the different types of oil. I live in Northern Alberta where it can get extremly cold in the winter. Would there be any problems switching, I've been using 5w20 synthetic for 2 years now.

Old 10-29-2010, 11:17 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Several reasons not to switch and not any to switch. 5W20 is the oil your truck calls for and 5W20 is the better choice for where you live. No reason to swap after 2 years. If you can't find it in the store, then mail order it...Amsoil comes to mind. I'll becha you mail/internet order things all the time...why not oil???

Old 10-30-2010, 02:01 AM
glc
Received 757 Likes on 702 Posts
In northern Alberta, I'd use a full synthetic 0W-20 or 0W-30. Amsoil has both, and it's not cheap.

Old 10-30-2010, 11:37 AM
I'll have a look online. It's 3 years since I've been using it, started using the synthetic when I bought the truck. It's easy to find in regular oil and synthetic blend, just hard to find here in full synthetic. I use to take it to a shop to have done then I moved back east for a bit, it was easy to get there, when I came back to Alberta the shop changed their oil brand so I decided to start changing it myself. I read a few forms where people are changing to 5w30 in their cars so I though I would ask on here.

Last edited by caper28; 10-30-2010 at 11:39 AM.
Old 10-30-2010, 12:44 PM
Received 23 Likes on 20 Posts
No Wal*Mart where you live? Auto parts store doesn't carry it?

amazon.com will have what you need.

Old 10-30-2010, 12:45 PM
Received 23 Likes on 20 Posts
I think that 0W20 would be a better option for the cold Canadian winter.

Old 10-30-2010, 02:09 PM