question about clatter

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2003, 04:04 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
question about clatter

hey every1. new here and this is my first f150. it seems ive encountered the infamous clicking/clattering or whatever sound ive read so much about on here.

personally, im new to ford, but between a family member, my friend, and a family member of his, this is the second f150 ('00, '01) on top of 3 expeditions ('98, '01, and '04). this is the first ive heard of the the clicking noise under the hood. none of the other vehicles mentioned above do/did it and my buddy's has 63k on it, tho ill ask him again to be sure.

ok the details.... 2000 f150 supercab v6 2wd 36,300 miles. no clicking/clatter at idle, but clicking during acceleration at low rpms and low speeds (0-45). it tends to go away at times and i have yet to hear it on the highway, but it will come back out of nowhere while driving streets. occasionally, it will click when giving it gas while in park, about only 5% of the time though. the clicking isnt too loud (ive read about loud diesel sounding clatter on here) but it IS noticeable in the cab while driving.

ive been reading everything on here from gas quality to valve clatter to loose spark plugs to oil realated issues to fuel injector noise and so on as being the source. i have to admit i was a bit concerned at first but from what ive read on here it seems to be nothing out of the ordinary?? i had a mechanic mention that its possibly noise from, let's see, where's the paper...... "possible wrist pin clatter under load" a bit concerning of course because i saw a few posts where people said that their ford dealer said a new engine or engine work was necessary while other ford dealers said its nothing to worry about. new engines and engine work are something i cant afford right now.