Best bang for buck mods on 4.6???

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2007, 02:56 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Best bang for buck mods on 4.6???

Hey everyone---first post woot! I just purchased a 99 F150 with the 4.6 and a 5spd. I got it for reliable transportation and a hauler for my motorcycles. I'm a gear head, but I'm used to tooling on old school turbocharged Audi 5 cylinders. So far with this truck I've been a little disappointed. I didn't know much about trucks and mainly got this one because it was a 5spd and was a great deal. It definitely needs a limited slip diff and LOTS more power. I'm in grad school so I don't have much cash but I'm pretty handy with tools and have a lot of access to junkyard parts.
So what are the best bang for the buck mods to wake this engine up? This truck is mainly for the street but will see some off road action too. I have a flowmaster 3.5" in/out that came off of one of my Audi's that I could use to make an exhaust. I was thinking remove 2 cats and use the FM with a turn down under the bed. How does this sound for a budget exhaust?

I also wanted to address the intake. But I'm curious if this is worthwhile.

I know of the e-fan mod also. This is out of my price range at this point. Are there any junkyard options out there?

I know a gearing change would help...again no funds for that. Is there a junkyard option that I could use. F250 maybe?

Ignition upgrades? I know they weren't really worth it on my Audi's until you started making big power.

The computer reprogram---I know this is a good one, but wouldn't it be better to do this AFTER the other mods to maximize the gains?

Sorry for the long e-mail. I'm used to my Audis in which there is little/no aftermarket in the US and you have to think outside the box.