codes PO305 and PO314

Old 03-22-2007, 12:20 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
codes PO305 and PO314

Haven't posted in years...well since i had my 02 L. have a 2002 FX4 with 5.4 with 68000 miles on it. stoped by the store on the way home...got back in the truck and headed home. truck ran like crap, it would run smooth, then rough and like it had no power. by the time i was almost home it was rough as all get out most of the last 5 minutes of my drive. had ck engine light flash for about 20 seconds...drove it about 15 miles home and it got much worse over that time. had a buddy of mine (retired mechanic) bring his scanner over and plug it up. It is outdated, but it read PO305 Cyl 5 misfire...then it had PO314 below that with no info. he said that's cuz it was outdated software on his scanner, but i can't find any info on PO314. i'm no mechanic but can anyone point me in direction of the firing order of these things so i can at least find cyl 5. he said he could change that plug...

Old 03-22-2007, 12:24 AM
nevermind, i just wasn't using the right search phrase...i just found it...1-4 front to back on passenger side, 5-8 front to back drivers side. sorry about that...i searched many other things but didn't see it...sure as i post i find it.

any suggestions though on PO314? and should i just change all plugs, change the one and try it out or take it to mechanic and dish out the dough?

Old 03-22-2007, 12:43 AM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts
PO314 Isn't a valid code .

It might be P1314 = Misfire Rate Catalyst Damage Fault - Bank 2

Which makes sense , cylinder 5 is on the bank 2 side . Both those codes will disappear when you replace the COP..

Old 03-22-2007, 12:49 AM
Ah, thanks for the help. i've looked everywhere for that PO314...i must have gotten it wrong from him cuz that code aparently does not exist. i've got some work cut out for me tomorrow.

Old 03-22-2007, 12:52 AM

You lucked out- #5 about the easiest one to get to lol