2001 f150 4.2l v6

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2017, 11:45 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2001 f150 4.2l v6

Hello all

I have a 2001 f150 with a 4.2l v6. it has the dreaded P0171 and p0174 troubles. while checking the vacuum i found the lower intake spacer was leaking and replaced the gaskets between the metal intake and the spacer and the plenum cover as well. I changed the plugs and wires at this time as well. it wouldn't start so i checked the fuel pressure and replaced the fuel filter. then it started but it is smoking terribly. it didn't smoke before I did this repair can anyone think of anything i did wrong that would cause this smoking issue? I am not a mechanic but a fair parts replacer. the motor runs marginly better but still suffers from a very rough idle.

thats the second part of this . I have replaced the crank sensor, the head temp sensor, the isolator bolt gromets, the intake spacer gaskets the plenum gasket. I cleaned the egr ports at this time with carb cleaner and a pick to make sure the sludge was gone. changed the plugs and wires. I purchased the coolant temp sensor. but can not locate it on the engine. i am assuming there isnt one on it at this point. any one have any other suggestions?

Elerikk

Old 03-23-2017, 02:46 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb Fixed the P0171 & P0174 messages