Towing & Hauling

Choosing an older truck for towing?

Old 05-25-2013, 04:55 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Choosing an older truck for towing?

I'm kicking around the idea of getting a truck to tow a car trailer. I'd guess the car will weigh somewhere around 2500lbs, and I wouldn't really even like to guess what the trailer could weigh. It'll be an open trailer I suspect, maybe 1500-2000 lbs?

I'm new to trucks and to towing, and have spent a couple of weeks trying to read up. The F-150 is top of my list (I was also considering an explorer but it sounds like they have a more complicated rear suspension system).

I've also been told that 2wd is preferable for towing (it won't ever see snow), and that the automatic transmissions in the F150 can tow more weight than the manuals. I don't know if this is accurate though.

I'm on a budget, and what I've seen locally in my price range has included trucks from the mid 90's up to about 2001. Mileage has been anywhere from the 70's to about 170. Is any of that a bad combination for towing?

I looked over the towing chart on this forum and it sounds like these trucks were available with many different rear axle ratios.

Is this as simple as just adding the car weight to the trailer weight, and picking a cab/rear axle/engine/transmission combination that is rated to tow more than that? or is there more to it?

Also, is there an obvious way to find out what rear axle a truck has, if you don't have the owners manual?

If anyone could let me know if I'm on the right track with this I'd really appreciate it.

Old 05-25-2013, 06:19 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
You definitely want to stay with an automatic. Tow rating for them is much higher than the manual. At the least you want a 3.55 gear ratio. 3.73 would be even better.