Towing & Hauling

Trailer Brake Light's Don't work

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2003, 10:50 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Trailer Brake Light's Don't work

Hello,

I just built a "Do It Yourself" trailer. I wired it exactly as it was shown in the wiring diagram, but I have a problem...

The running/marker lights, turn signals, and even the tail lights all work when plugged in and towing, but when I step on the brakes, all the lights go out...Let go of the brakes and everything works again. Is this suppose to happen?

I own a 2002 F-150 XLT Sport, with a 4 Pin(Trailer uses) and 7-Pin towing package, and I am new at towing. I'm hoping somebody maybe has had this problem and can give me some advice.

Old 12-07-2003, 02:30 AM
I have had this problem with my boats, now if your using trailer brakes it can make a difference. Since your using the 4 pin, my guess is your not running trailer brakes, my problem was that on my 5 flat to 7 round that went to the truck, I had to switch wires around because it didnt recognize i was in reverse, and I couldnt back up. Now with this my guess would be to experiment with the wires. and look in the truck manual and see which wire is what on the 4 pin. I know on the 7 pin it says it on the cover. Just play with them a little and I'm sure you will get it, I go through it once a year because every boat trailer I have seems to be a little different depending on the trailers year.

Old 10-24-2011, 01:14 PM
Originally Posted by Lambster
Hello,

I just built a "Do It Yourself" trailer. I wired it exactly as it was shown in the wiring diagram, but I have a problem...

The running/marker lights, turn signals, and even the tail lights all work when plugged in and towing, but when I step on the brakes, all the lights go out...Let go of the brakes and everything works again. Is this suppose to happen?