Oil catch can

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2017, 01:00 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Oil catch can

Greetings! Would/has anyone installed UPR dual valve oil catch can? I'm new to the F150 clan with a 2017 3.5L ecoboost, and was wondering if it wold help, or is necessary.

Old 02-03-2018, 10:51 PM
I came on here looking for the same info. Kinda concerned that there hasn't been a single response in 3 months . . .
From other sources, it seems that late model ecoboosts have port injection in addition to direct injection, whereas the 2015 only has direct, so that the valves accumulate deposits to a much greater extent.

Old 02-04-2018, 01:37 AM
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
There is an F150 specific "Ecoboost" forum out there and most of them have the 'can' on 'em..

I came here back in 2001 when I had a 97 F150. I have since gotten a 13 F150 with the Eco and also belong to that Ecoboost forum since 2014 and for the record, I do not run a can..

The other thing they like to do is drill a very small hole in the CAC to drain it..

Well, I have not done that either..

You will see lots of debates over both of those procedures.. Myself, I'm just going with what Ford said would work and at 60k miles so far, so good..

Sure, I have not run a scope or anything to see what the valves look like, but it still runs fine, gets the same mpg, has the same power, etc..

Eco's have been around since 2011, and there was some initial issues with the CAC and extra stuff in 'em, so that's what generated the fad to drill a hole in the CAC..

There were various 'fixes' from Ford on that, but I've done nothing with my 13 and have never had any issue and I have done full throttle and work my Eco towing my TT, so whatever they did for 13 works for me..

Anyway, do what you feel you need to do.. It's your truck.. It's your money.. Either way, in the end, whatever happens, happens and that's that.. ha, ha!