Pre-1997 Models

1994 F150 No Spark

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2012, 01:23 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1994 F150 No Spark

Hello all,

I'm hoping someone will be able to help guide me in the right direction towards getting my truck running again.

I'm currently having a no spark issue. It has a very strong start, just doesn't crank. I'm not a mechanic by any stretch of the imagination.

I bought the truck from a friend two months ago. There have never been any problems with it in the past. It ran great for the first 3 days. The 4th day, I got in my truck to go to work and it started, cranked, trembled and shook, then shut off. Now it no longer cranks. Strong start though.

Here is what I have replaced:

-New dist. cap.
-New dist. rotor
-Known working distributor (pulled from a friend's truck that was working)
-New battery
-New Ignition Coil
-New Spark plugs and wires
-New ICM (TFI)
-New Fuel Pump in rear tank
-New fuel filter

Here is the results from my testing:

When turning the key to the ON position, I can hear a click, but no other noise from either fuel pump. The old fuel pump i pulled from the rear tank when I replaced it. But it tested good once I had it out. So I don't know why they are not priming, there is nothing wrong with them from what i can tell. it would be odd for both of my fuel pumps to go out at the same exact time too.

I have power going to the Coil, coming through the coil wire to the distributor, but nothing coming out of the distributor at all. I took the cap off when trying to crank and the rotor rotates. i was told that means the timing is ok.

I've hooked up an HEI spark tester to each plug wire and have gotten no spark.

I've sprayed starter fluid directly into the intake while trying to crank and nothing changed.

I've checked all of the fuses in the fuse box in the driver compartment and in the engine compartment. They are all good.