Pre-1997 Models

85 f150 302 swap need help AHH

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2009, 12:54 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
85 f150 302 swap need help AHH

i have an 85 f150 that orginally had a 300 i6 in it but the motor was trashed so i bought a 302 after doing some research and heard the swap wouldnt be that hard, i have been working on cars and trucks for bout 4 years and figured i could handle this. I have been alright up until now, i was about to drop the 302 in the engine bay and i realize that the mounts that are on the engine do not line up with the brackets that the 300 bolted into. and i dont have any clue what to do, i have called around and everyone seems to not have any of the 302 brackets. i have been reading on here for a while as a guest and i came here first to see if anyone could help

Old 04-21-2009, 08:32 PM
are you using the 302 or the 300 mounts? what year 302? what exactly is causing them not to line up?(too far forward/backward, too much/little angle, too wide, etc)

Old 04-24-2009, 12:09 AM
tough swap

I did the same engine swap 20 years ago with a 1980 F150 4x4. I6 to 302 from a Mustang GT(forget what year model 302). After it was done, I swore I would NEVER EVER do this again! Let me see if I can remember all the mods I had to go through.....
---If your 302 is a car motor, the casts on the block for motor mounts are probably different than a truck motor. I had to get engine stands (bolt to the crossmember. The motor mounts attach to them) for a V-8. One motor mount for a Mustang, one for a F150. Still didn't line up perfect, but I was able to get the motor in and bolted in.
---If manual tranny and non-hydraulic clutch....the threaded hole for the clutch linkage fulcrum point is a larger diameter than the 6 cylinder. You need new fulcrum point hardware.
---Lower radiator hose is located on opposite side of engine. You need 302 radiator and mounting hardware/brackets or you do creative plumbing work.