Pre-1997 Models

High-milage 1995 4x4, I6, 5spd - what to look for?

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2005, 10:11 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
High-milage 1995 4x4, I6, 5spd - what to look for?

I'm considering a 1995 F150 4x4 I6 5 speed longbed (manual hubs, air, tow package) that has 179K on it. The price is very attractive, but the mileage is somewhat high to go with it. I fully expect to need to maintain it - I have some experience with that after 11 years of driving a 1987 1-ton crew-cab 4WD, but maintenence costs at 18 years old are finally becoming more than makes sense, I'm not using it to capacity, and gas prices...ugh. So I want something less rusty, slightly newer, with modern amenities like airbags and ABS, that drinks less fuel. Air conditioning will be nice after the summer we've been having, too.

I would like to know if there are any particular things or areas I should check (ie, known usual trouble spots) when I go look at this truck in a few days. My general understanding is that the I6 is a long-life engine, though I seem to recall the one in my dad's 1976 F150 having some major life-ending event around 1986, but I don't recall what. Engine life is rarely the limiting factor here with the salt on the roads - rust and the side effects of rust tend to do things in. I expect with that much mileage I may have some suspension and drivetrain stuff to consider - what are likely items based on your experiences as these trucks go from 175-200K? What is a "towing package" on a 6 with a manual going to consist of?

How much of a bear to get at are the front u-joints on the 4WD? - current owner reports one going bad, price low enough that this is not a pre-inspection deal killer, but if they are especially difficult to access it might become a point of negotiation, and if they are easy, it might not be anything to worry about.

Thanks for any help/input/advice you can offer.

Old 08-18-2005, 10:56 PM