F150online Forums

F150online Forums (https://www.f150online.com/forums/)
-   Pre-1997 Models (https://www.f150online.com/forums/pre-1997-models-51/)
-   -   Oil Pan Question (https://www.f150online.com/forums/pre-1997-models/203409-oil-pan-question.html)

DHarris75 07-06-2005 07:34 AM

Oil Pan Question

Hello,

I am a novice home mechanic and I try to do as much work as I can at home. That being said, I was replacing my water pump over the weekend and while I was underneath the truck I noticed the gasket for my oil pan was sticking out by a good 1/2 inch at one point. It loops out and then back in and the hole where the bolt goes was ripped.

I do not seem to be losing a lot of oil in between oil changes and I have no idea how long it has been like this. But, I was looking at how much of a PITA it would be to change it out. It looks like I'd have to pull the engine w/ the cross beam in the way. The pan goes from the rear (where the drain plug is at) all the way up to the front under the engine.

My question: anyone know if I would in fact have to pull the engine or can it be changed with it in still installed?

Specs: 92 F-150 Flare Side, 4.9L I-6, Manual 5-speed.

There are other things with the truck that I'm needing some advice on, but that will be for a diff thread. Replaced the thermostat and gasket one day, and the next my water pump was leaking (well, no - it was pouring out). So I replaced it w/ a new gasket. No leaks...but it is running a little warmer than it was before. The needle goes to O on Normal. It use to never get to N. But it's runnin and I'm not losing coolant. But I do need a new belt though - cracks and dry rot.

Anyway, off subject. Thanks for help.

Ford4ever 07-07-2005 11:27 AM