Pre-1997 Models

New member from Ohio

Old 06-13-2005, 06:48 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New member from Ohio

Hi everyone, my name is Mike, and I'm from Canton, OH. I just joined up here. I spent 6 years in the US Marine Corps (hence the username), and I work in IT in Cleveland.

I have two vehicles. A 98 Mustang GT that I run in the NMRA Mod Muscle class, and drive every once in awhile on nice days, and a 95 F-150 that I bought a few months ago. It has the 300 straight six, an E4OD, and a long bed with dual tanks...thats pretty much it. doesn't even have a headliner from the factory. It's a straight work truck and my D/D.

I know the straight sixes are known for thier reliability and low-end torque, as well as thier poor gas mileage and meager top-end performance. By no means do I want the truck to be a racer (that's what the Mustang is for).

I want to use it as my tow vehicle. The Mustang weighs exactly 3125 pounds in race trim with 1/8th tank of fuel. As far as tow ratings go, I have a 3.08 open diff as well, and the trailer weight rating is 5000 pounds IIRC (I don't have the manual with me). While I know the truck would pull the car/trailer fairly easily, take into account that some of the races I want to tow to are over 700 miles away. I want to make it as trouble and worry-free as possible for those long trips, here's my plan:

Easier stuff:
B & M plate style tranny cooler - largest GVWR I can find
Tranny Temp gauge - I'll tap the sender from the pan
Class IV or V hitch
K&N FIPK
Shift Kit - recommendations for a towing setup?
Air bags or leaf springs - which would you suggest and why?
Trailer brake controller
Chip

Questionable stuff:
Cam - has anyone dynoed a 4.9L before/ after a cam swap? I would much rather gain some more low end torque than top end HP