The Outdoors Off-roading, Hunting, Fishing, Camping, and Weaponry. What are you out doing in your F-Series?

I'm stuck, need some advice

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2007, 12:56 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I'm stuck, need some advice

Here why I'm a retard noob:

So I'm on my way home from Home Depot, and there's a bit of a storm rolling into College Station, it looks as if the sky is in flames. It looks cool, so I decide to pull off the side of the road to get a good picture of it near some huge piles of gravel being used for local road work. While I'm there, I think "I haven't put the truck in 4x4 in a while." So I put it in 4 Hi and drive around the gravel piles, and decide to make the turn around in the huge grassy field. All goes well until I get almost back to the gravel piles, and my truck just begins to sink. I tried to rock it out in 4 Lo, but to no avail, I was stuck. I ended up on the edge of a soggy swampy area in the field. And it's now dark. I frantically searched through my cell phone trying to get ahold of someone with a 4x4 truck who could pull me out. Finally, I get ahold of a friend of a friend, and he comes to meet me.

I try to convince him that it's a good idea to pull me out at an angle from the semi-dry side of the field, but he decides to do a straight on pull from the front. So he goes around the gravel piles and backs up to me. Turns out his 3/4 ton Chevy is 2WD, and he get stuck about 50 yards in front of me, and I drag another person into the mess. After about another 45 minutes of call around, we get another guy to come out. Same thing, straight on pull from the front, but the ground is too soft, and couldn't get the Chevy to budge. We tried to dig out the back tires and shovel gravel from the pile, but that didn't work either. NOW WE ARE BOTH ****ED.

It seems as if the ground is either too soft, or too wet for anyone to get traction, even in 4 Lo.

Any advice? I'll post the pics tomorrow, hopefully we get out.