02 lariat clutch won’t engage….

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2021, 09:30 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
02 lariat clutch won’t engage….

My AC clutch is not engaging… I know a little bit of HVAC I’m a maintenance tech and I work on housing HVAC…anyhow I have a 2002 f150 lariat v8 I’ve checked the compressor diode fuse by swapping with another I’ve checked the clutch relay and 15amp fuse everything is good….my clutch won’t engage I’ve tried the paper clip to the relay and it doesn’t work I’ve tried jumping the low pressure switch it won’t engage but the only way I can get my clutch to engage is jumping the low pressure switch and adding 12v to the jumper and boom clutch engages….I’m lost neither low pressure switch or high pressure switch have 12v or continuity with truck running and ac max set to on? Is there a bad wire somewhere or broken? I’m completely lost and it’s HOT outside please help!

Old 06-16-2021, 10:19 PM
glc
Received 756 Likes on 702 Posts
You sure it's charged? Checked the clutch air gap?

Old 06-16-2021, 11:24 PM
Originally Posted by glc
You sure it's charged? Checked the clutch air gap?
I’m not sure what charge it has since clutch won’t engage however with the low pressure switch u hooked shouldn’t I still be getting 12v at the plug? I’m getting 0v at the plug with ac on max EATC

Old 06-17-2021, 12:06 AM
glc
You can check the static pressure with gauges. Should be around 100 psi both sides.

Have you done the EATC self test?

https://www.idmsvcs.com/2vmod/eatcswap/selftest.html

Last edited by glc; 06-17-2021 at 12:10 AM.
Old 06-17-2021, 07:32 AM
Received 104 Likes on 97 Posts
If the series pressure switch circuit does not have power, the PCM will never turn on the clutch. If the system cooled properly when you jerry-rigged it to engage, the pressures are not the problem, the control circuit is.