Business Owners In Here Please

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2006, 02:49 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Business Owners In Here Please

I have been managing an offshore inspection company for the last 4 years. A couple of weeks ago the company I worked for got a little sideways with me and I was given the option to resign or be terminated. I chose to resign. I have been talking with a couple of companies about starting a marine division and they have shown great intrest.

Now for some history. When I started to manage this division it was on the rocks and the owner of the company was really considering saling the division off. I had a total of 5 employees including myself. Over the last four years the division has grown such that when I left two weeks ago I had two offices one in houston and one in mississippi (that I opened two years ago) and 24 employees and the office in houston went from 700 sq ft to 1400 sq feet. My employees are waiting for me to find a new home as well as several of my customers.

Now for the part I would like some advice on as well as opinions. One of my customers called me today and asked where I was working and I told him that I am still in nogtiation. He asked me why not just start my own business and that he would back me finacially. And that I would be doing all his work. He has several projects that will be starting in the next couple of weeks that will be well over 500k each. I also know that all of the work in Mississippi would be coming my way. The employees out there are working an average of 50 hrs a week. Plus there are several areas that have been untapped as far as additional work load.