flowmaster - magnaflow

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2012, 07:49 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
flowmaster - magnaflow

so .. i have a flowmaster single chamber 12" race muffler on my truck

i love the sound....

Everyone says i'm loosing power and get a magnaflow

so i have a magnaflow 18" body muffler..

i didn't like the sound..

but any ways should i put it on?

Old 06-18-2012, 08:34 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Re-read your question and realize that a muffler will not affect your performance on daily driving or even high rpm. It is the size, layout, and bend types of your exhaust that effect everything.

If you are happy with your sound, keep it how it is man. Don't let other people tell you to change to something you do not want to.

Old 06-18-2012, 10:04 PM
That 18" sounds good, but probably quite a bit quieter than that flowmaster. I got rid of my 18" in favor of a 14", there was a big difference in volume, but even more of a difference in aggressiveness/depth of tone. After the muffler swap, I added Maggie hi flow cats, and those also made a big difference. My neighbor has a flowmaster on his 05 f150, it's not as bad as some of us make flowmaster out to sound, but he does tell me how much he likes mine fairly often. Like Darren said, if you like it, keep it as is. It's your truck, you get to listen to it all the time so do whatever makes you smile when you drop the hammer!

Old 06-18-2012, 10:04 PM
I have a 4x14" magnaflow round body and I love it. Sounds great at all ranges, especially at higher rpms. Definitely a head turner.

Old 06-18-2012, 10:08 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Your not hurting your performance really that much. If you like the sound then roll with it.

Old 06-18-2012, 11:09 PM
disregard previous transmission, I am trying to set up my signature

Old 06-19-2012, 06:21 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Originally Posted by dave06ford