Headlights won't turn on and Fog lights won't turn off

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2013, 11:44 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Headlights won't turn on and Fog lights won't turn off

I ran into this problem about a month ago and cannot afford to take it to someone. I am not a mechanic but I am handy can do a few things myself.

Here's the issue, I have a 2002 Ford F-150 and my headlights won't turn on at all and the bulbs are not burned out.

If the truck is on when I turn on the headlights the fog lights and dashboard go on but won't turn off. If I pull the fuse out and put it back in the lights go off.

If the truck is off, the headlights won't turn on and the fog lights do turn off.

I have checked all the small fuses under the dash and under the hood and they are all fine.

I'm not sure how to check the bigger fuses. Any suggestions on what I should do? It is getting really annoying that I can't drive at night.

Just to note:
I did pull a trailer the day before this happened, they worked fine after that then the next night I drove and everything was fine but then when I got in my truck 3 hours later this started.

Old 01-01-2013, 03:41 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Few questions :

1. When you are turning them on, is this the main headlamp switch to the right, or are you turning it to the left to the autolamp position ?

2. Did you do any modifications ( i.e. bambi mod ? )
- If so, did you pull the 5A fog lamp fuse ?

If you have the bambi mod, and pulled a trailer, did you pull the trailer parking lamp fuse ?
- Taking a SWAG that the connector got some corrosion or something in it, and the 7 pin trailer tow adapter battery charge circuit is bridged to the parking lamp circuit in the 7 pin adapter itself. Seen this on newer body style F150, think it would be non applicable on your MY.