F250HD Battery light

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2004, 01:26 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question F250HD Battery light

The users of this forum have been most helpful, so here is another challenge for all of you. I have had a 97 F250HD 7.5 Turbo Diesel for 6 months now. The odometer shows about 125K, which is fine for a diesel. I am an electrical design engineer (retired) and I have a problem with the dual battery system that Ford uses. Both batteries are connected in parallel with no apparent blocking diodes. As any one who understands batteries should know, this is not good. When one battery starts to fail it will pull the other down (the other battery becomes a charging system for the failing one). This process continues to swing from one battery to the other until they are both dead. So much for bad engineering by Ford, and now to my problem. The battery voltage indicator has always shown a very low value (about 8VDC before and after I replaced the batteries). This has always concerned me so I checked the voltage of both batteries several times. They both had good float and charge voltages (12.5 float, 13.85 charge). I also checked the alternator output and it was fine. Additionally, the battery warning light is always on when I first turn on the ignition (is this normal?). A week ago, after the truck hadn’t been started for 4 weeks I tried to start it and it was dead (no power at all). I have a very sophisticated battery charger. I showed both batteries were totally sulphated and could not be revived (“bad Ford” engineers)! Therefore, off to the local parts store and after $80 and 2 hours I had the new batteries installed. However, the problem with the warning light and low gauge reading persists. The new batteries seem to be holding up (both new) but why the very low readings on the gauge and the warning light. Could this be a result of the glow plugs? Anyone know where the battery voltage gauge gets it’s reading (battery 1, battery 2, both)? What does t