This look like a scam?

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old Nov 24, 2003 | 07:31 PM
  #1  
03F15054FX4's Avatar
Thread Starter
|
Senior Member
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 499
Likes: 0
This look like a scam?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...tem=2443893430

Mike, do the products in the link above look, well, fake? My friend was thinking of purchasing it, but I figured I'd ask you first
 
Reply
Old Nov 26, 2003 | 04:07 PM
  #2  
Superchips_Distributor's Avatar
Former Sponsor
Joined: Mar 1998
Posts: 13,385
Likes: 4
From: Virginia
Hi 03,

Well, I can't tell you for sure if they are fake or not - I'm guessing they're not. What I *can* tell you is that even if they are genuine, package is still basically worthless, as it *cannot* be used to program any Superchips.

You would have to be an authorized & registered Superchips dealer to be able to use it - the software (if that's even there at all) is heavily copy protected from both a software and a hardware standpoint - it requires additional hardware as well as registration keys to unlock the software, etc. So you have no software that can be used, you don't have the additional hardware required to allow the software to run (assuming you had a registration key in the first place), thus you have no way to program or change any of those modules - assuming the modules are genuine and are not damaged, etc.

And, those gold-colored modules are only for V10's or 7.3L Powerstroke diesels - those gold modules are not for F-150's or any other FoMoCo vehicles, only V10's & 7.3L PSD's.

The only potential for any possible value would be in the modules - and even then only if you paid a legitimate dealer to reprogram them - assuming they're actually serviceable.
 
Reply




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:07 AM.