the more I read, the more confused I get

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2009, 02:22 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
the more I read, the more confused I get

Everytime I think that I'm ready to place an order, I make a vital mistake. I read some more posts or blogs and change my mind. I am not a pro at this by any means. The last time I polished and waxed a car was many moons ago, but my new baby deserves better.

I have an 07 red fire supercab. The paint is in very good condition. There are a couple of very light, small scratches. My plan was to get a da and do the following (do I even need a da?)
1. megs smooth surface clay kit
2. some kind of polish
3. some kind of carnuba wax
4. some kind of leather cleaner

can somebody recommend product and tell me what steps to follow

Old 07-29-2009, 02:25 AM
did i miss a stage? do I need a glaze?

Old 07-29-2009, 06:50 AM
This is the how to remove swirls and light scratches.

Look at what you have to start with. Is there deep scratches (ones you can catch your fingernail on) or just light surface scratches?
Do I have swirls?
Is there places one the car that look dull and cloudy?
Is the surface of the paint smooth?
What do I want to accomplish with my polishing?

Ok now that you know what you have and where you want to go I will fill in the path to get there.

I will look at what I have to start with.

From the gas cap hitting the paint.

Swirl and scratch city and I’m the major. I also removed the pinstripe you can see where it use to be.

See the strip of perfect paint that was a pinstripe.

Now I will figure out where I want to end up. With my truck it is a 01 with 100k on it so I can’t expect it to get back to perfect. I want there to be no swirls and to make the scratch less noticeable. I would also like to remove some of the scratches when possible.