2000 or 2500 grit

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2004, 12:47 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2000 or 2500 grit

Hey guys! Great forum. I have found a lot of great info here.

I just bought a 2002 Lightning and even though I don't tailgate, I got a pretty good sized rock chip in my bumper. I have read some great posts by Intel and others on using the 2000 grit sandpaper on a pencil trick and buffing it out after it's smooth. I noticed the parts store has 2500 grit paper in stock. Would it be ok to use 2500 instead of 2000 so it will be easier to buff out the scratches by hand.

Thanks for any info!

Old 05-22-2004, 01:13 AM
I think 2500 would work, but I've never used it before.. it might not be abrasive enough though. I'd look for the 2000 grit, pepboys carries it by 3M.

Old 05-22-2004, 10:26 AM
Moderator &

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Either or....

As you're probably aware, 2500 grit is less agressive than 2000 grit thus, you're going to have to work on it more than you would with the 2000 grit.

One tip when you're utilizing Intel's rockchip fix-it method.... BE PATIENT!!!

Don't get ahead of yourself. Allow the paint to fully dry and cure before you go in and start trying to hit it with papers. I've been VERY successful with the technique and it works great... the only time I've had trouble with it is when I rushed things. It typically takes me 2+ days to make an averaged size chip go away.

RP

Old 05-22-2004, 02:44 PM
Thanks. How should I sand? Very lightly in circles or from side to side.

Old 05-22-2004, 08:28 PM
Moderator &

Straight lines will be easier to polish out than circles in my opinion.

Old 05-23-2004, 01:50 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I would just go with the 2000 grit paper. I've always used it and it works out fine.

I've found myself going in small circles to get the repair mark down a little and then going back and forth to finish it up. Whatever works for you though.

Be patient though, this method does take some time.

Good Luck with it.