Articles & How-To's *NOW WITH VIDEO SECTION!*

How-To: 97-03 Headlight Switch LED Swap

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2009, 12:54 AM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How-To: 97-03 Headlight Switch LED Swap

Ok so i switched all my dash lights to white LEDs to get a blue illumination thanks to raptor's how-to but one part was left out. The headlight switch is more of a pain to convert but is still very doable.

this is in no way a perfect method as ford has many switch configurations and there are at least two ive tried and been successful with. i am not a professional only a DIYer

on the 97-98

the switch body comes has clips around the edges and if you lift them up with a screw driver it comes apart very easy. i dont have a pic of the outside but heres what it looks like taken apart.

the arrow points to the culprit. if you turn the post to the right it comes out the back.

the leads for the stock bulb are wrapped around the base like shown

you can undo these and pull the bulb out. then with the Blue LED i got from radio shack (rated at 3.7V and 20mA) run the leads down the post just like the stock one. the long lead should be the positive but you can check this to make sure. you will need to add a resistor to the bulb so it wont blow the LED. i used a 680ohm 1/2 watt resistor from radio shack. then i wrapped the negative lead around the post like the factory bulb. then i wrapped the lead from the resistor around the other post like factory. then i trimmed the resistor lead to make the connection smaller. then solder the positive lead form the LED to the lead from the resistor.