Articles & How-To's *NOW WITH VIDEO SECTION!*

How to replace a Timing Cover Gasket, '99 F-150 4.2

Old 07-10-2011, 08:34 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts
How to replace a Timing Cover Gasket, '99 F-150 4.2

I replaced the timing cover (called the front engine cover by Ford) gasket on my '99 F-150 4.2 w/ 102K, to stop a small coolant leak. Diagnostic thread here... https://www.f150online.com/forums/v6...lant-leak.html

Because I found little info on this repair on the net, I thought I'd snap a few pics and do a quick write up.

DISCLAIMER ... I'm not a trained mechanic (nor do I play one on TV), just a guy who enjoys the challenge and reward of doing my own repairs. What follows is how I performed the repair, not necessarily the right or best way. Done incorrectly, this adventure could cost you a motor. If you don't feel comfortable performing the repair, pay some guy a lot of money to do it for you. That being said, this is not a particularly hard job, just somewhat tedious.

Primary resource for this repair was my '99 Ford truck service manual.

Tools/Materials required:
  • Standard hand tools (various wrenches, sockets, etc. ... mostly metric)
  • Harmonic balancer puller ($17 at Auto Zone)
  • Torque wrenches (lb-in and lb-ft, good to 100 lb-ft)
  • 6 mm hex bit
  • Spring hose clamp pliers
  • M14 x 1.50 x 60 mm Bolt ($5 at hardware store)
  • Timing cover gasket
  • Water pump gasket
  • Permatex Ultra Black RTV Silicone gasket maker
  • 6 qts. engine oil and filter
  • Approx 2.5 gal 50/50 antifreeze

The party begins ...

Park your truck where you'll have room to work around and under the engine compartment.

Disconnect the neg battery terminal.

Remove the entire air filter and intake, disconnecting the IAT and MAF sensors, as well as the PCV tube. Remove the throttle body cover.

Loosen the pet**** at the lower right corner of the radiator and drain the coolant.

Remove the Serpentine Belt.