F150online Forums

F150online Forums (https://www.f150online.com/forums/)
-   2015 - 2020 F-150 (https://www.f150online.com/forums/2015-2020-f-150-136/)
-   -   Towing a stock trailer (https://www.f150online.com/forums/2015-2020-f-150/520916-towing-stock-trailer.html)

Courtney Eff 05-24-2019 06:24 PM

Towing a stock trailer

Please reassure me - I own a 2015 F-150 with a 3.5L V6 engine with included harness and trailer sway control. GVWR is 6300lbs, max trailering capacity is 7200lb and max tongue weight is 720lbs. Gross combined weight rating is 12,200lbs. Can I haul a 16ft bumper pull (hitch mounted to frame) steel stock trailer (approximately 2500-3000lbs dry) with 1 horse (MAYBE 1000lbs on a heavy day) without something blowing up or going horribly wrong? Trailer will have electric brakes and I'm a very careful driver. My idea of a big travel day is hauling half an hour down the road to ride with friends, straight highway and back roads - if I find mountains, I've gone 4 hours too far in the wrong direction. Occasionally, I might put a second horse in the trailer (also maybe 1000lbs), but that would be very rare and I'd be more likely to steal the diesel for that. My thoughts are that I'm well under the weight allowances, but people keep telling me I need a bigger truck to haul anything, but I've seen F150s towing similar things to what I plan to tow.

I will have use of a big diesel for those days where I want to haul longer distances or more horses, but I wanted to make sure my truck could handle the short distances a few times a month when Alberta doesn't have snow. Trailer would not come out to play in the winter, which is basically 8 months of the year here.

Thank you!

ManualF150 05-24-2019 07:17 PM

I'm sure it will tow. However, it will not have the stopping power of a bigger truck.

Courtney Eff 05-24-2019 07:51 PM

Originally Posted by ManualF150 (Post 5250683)
I'm sure it will tow. However, it will not have the stopping power of a bigger truck.