2015 - 2020 F-150

Drivetrain clunk let off and apply gas

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2017, 08:49 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Drivetrain clunk let off and apply gas

I have a 2016 F-150 XLT 4x4 with about 26k on it. At around 3k it developed a clunk in the drive train. I'm not a mechanic so I'll do my best to describe the situation. It happens at speeds above 30 (4-6 gear). When I let off the gas during normal city driving and get back on it there is a clunk sound towards the rear of the truck. It happens about 75% of the time during normal driving. I have taken the truck to the dealership (Crossroads Ford of Cary, NC) at least 6 times, likely more, trying to get this issue resolved.

Initial visits focused on lubing up everything to resolve it, no luck. The last visit had them replacing a component of the torque converter and they kept the vehicle for over a week to better "troubleshoot" the issue. We also tried the service department of a different dealership in the same dealership family (Crossroads of ***uay-Varina, NC) with no luck. I'm want to resolve this issue during the warranty period and I don't want to let this issue go. Crossroads has told us they can't fix it, or don't know how to. We feel like we're at our wits end. We love the truck but don't want this issue to become a bigger problem down the road. Part of me wants to trade the truck in but I can't afford that as I'm still upside down in the loan and will be for at least 1.5 years.

Has anyone experienced anything similar? If so, did you get it resolved?

Old 11-10-2017, 07:50 AM
Mine does the same but at low speeds. For me its just the natural play in the u joints, splines, and ring and pinion of the diff as you step on the gas. I wouldn't stress about it unless it sounds like a rabid 4 year old with a gong.

Old 11-10-2017, 02:35 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts