2015 - 2020 F-150

Looking at a 2018 but scared of all the new tech...

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2017, 11:18 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Looking at a 2018 but scared of all the new tech...

Coming from a 1998 F150 so I figured I am due for an upgrade!

I'm 47 so technology doesn't scare me but it seems there is a large amount of new technology in this F150. I'm also an Engineer so I know good design can make anything reliable. But, the more complex the system, the more failure points you have.

I would get the V8 for sure no matter what in XLT trim.

-PTWA cylinder coating, no liners.
-10 speed tranny with low vis fluid
-Direct and Port injection
-Auto stop/start
-Aluminum body and bed (bed concerns me most)

All of these items add up to some pretty decent MPG claims for a full size truck. However, I don't want to part of a grand experiment that results in a truck that is constantly in the shop or needing high dollar repairs later in life. I'll spare you the details but I absolutely loathe having to deal with Ford service departments, hence I do all my own maintenenance/repairs with the exception of tires/alignments.

I have been looking at the Tundra also as it is a simpler platform with less new tech. However, the mileage is terrible but no worse than what I get with my 1998.

Old 09-02-2017, 02:42 PM
Received 41 Likes on 37 Posts
Uh, none of the things you've listed are "new". The Plasma Wire Transfer has been around since Ford started using it back in 2011. Besides adding strength to the block, it lowers the actual frictional surface that the piston rides on which translates to better fuel mileage, longer engine life, and better lubrication.