2004 - 2008 F-150

How to add Column-Shifter and Bench Seat???

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2014, 02:20 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How to add Column-Shifter and Bench Seat???

Hey guys,

I know this sounds super stupid... most guys do the exact opposite.

My uncle has owned his 2004 Lariat since new. He is willing to sell it to me for a very nice price. He drives like a grandpa so that car is in fantastic shape for 120,000 miles. Back seats aren't even worn in. Bottom line is I want THIS truck because I know its history better than a shot in the dark on craigslist.

So I want to use this truck for some family hauling... problem is I need to seat 6. Myself and 5 others. The bench seat would be SO ideal. So I was wondering if anyone had any idea on how to REMOVE the center console and shifter to REPLACE IT with a foldable bench seat and a column shifter?

How the hell do I make this happen? I'm a newb... would seriously appreciate any help.

What I have:

Old 10-02-2014, 09:10 AM
Received 45 Likes on 44 Posts
I don't know what happened to my post contents? I had a long post and it vanished, so this "redo" is showing as "edit".

Easiest if you are mechanically inclined and have time and a wrecked column shift truck parked in the yard nearby. Steering column with all the controls, passive restraint (airbag) stuff, shifter and cable, seat, seat wiring, center seat belt, and you'll want the center of the dash.