2004 - 2008 F-150

Replacing muffler with Y-pipe?

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2014, 07:07 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Replacing muffler with Y-pipe?

I want to make my truck louder but keep a crisp sound. I have a flowmaster 40 series single inlet dual outlet. Could I replace the muffler with a y-pipe? Would it sound any good?

Thanks!!

Old 09-03-2014, 08:47 PM
Received 45 Likes on 44 Posts
Sure, you can do that and it'll be even louder, likely to the point of being obnoxious ...
... and it'll be huge draw to any nearby LEOs looking to round out their weekly reports.

I say go for it!

Old 09-03-2014, 08:48 PM
its not that loud similar set up on mine nice going down the road sounds pretty good when ya give it some gas

Old 09-03-2014, 08:54 PM
Originally Posted by fsulaxer
its not that loud similar set up on mine nice going down the road sounds pretty good when ya give it some gas

Sweet, do you have any sound videos or anything so I could hear an example of it?? Thanks for the reply!

Old 09-04-2014, 08:06 AM
Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts
You're just going to **** off the neighbors and draw attention from cops. There's no reason to go around with no muffler on a road-driven vehicle. (really not many cases where it makes sense off-road either). It's obnoxiously loud and does nothing whatsoever for performance at stock levels of HP.

Old 09-04-2014, 09:05 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I think having no muffler would get old quick, IMO. My brother had an old big block with dual exhaust with mufflers and still had cops trying to pull him over. Wouldn't give the popo more of a reason to try and meet their quota.

Old 09-04-2014, 09:27 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
You have a Flowmaster 40 and it isn't loud enough? I am guessing you like paying tickets to your local Police department...

Old 09-05-2014, 09:57 PM