2004 - 2008 F-150

2005 f150 xlt rear end rebuld

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2012, 12:11 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2005 f150 xlt rear end rebuld

hi, everyone

I purchased an 05' f150 recently for a 'real good price' and now obviosly things arent going so well. When i bought the truck the previous owner advised me that there was a slight knock in the rear end and its most likely the rear u-joint. As im no mechanic i believed him and decided that the $25 u joint is gonna be an easy fix. So i bought a new u-joint and tore the rear end down taking out the driveshaft and diff cover off. The stock u-joint was in perfect condition what a surprise but i cant say the same about the diff and the ring and pinion gear. There was excessive wear on the bearings and quite a bit of backlash in the ring gear. At that point i had not looked much into it so i cleaned everything put the whole thing back together and filled it up with oil.
My local ford dealer advised me that i have a ls diff and sold me the friction modifier, i later found out that thats a load of bull so now my rear end is knocking like there is no tomorrow and im looking at a complete rear end rebuild. I was quoted a price of about $3500 for the job so i decided to do it myself.

Old 10-27-2012, 12:28 PM
glc
Received 760 Likes on 704 Posts
Friction modifier doesn't hurt a non-LS rear. You simply bought a truck with a rear end on its way out.

Why don't you go to the boneyard and get a whole rear axle? That's gotta be a hell of a lot cheaper than any other way, and easier to change. There's a lot of precision work involved with rebuilding a diff.

Old 10-27-2012, 12:29 PM
Now down to business. I did a whole bunch of reading on the project at hand and this is what i found out and purchased.

my stock rear end is a 9.75"
gear ratio of 3.55
the diff is an open carrier type

I called the people at west coast differentials the web site is www.differentials.com