2004 - 2008 F-150

Pads, Rotors, IWE's, Bilsteins and AIR

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2010, 09:48 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Pads, Rotors, IWE's, Bilsteins and AIR

Spent yesterday putting on some new rotors and pads.
(2006 F150 Lariat 4WD - 65,000 mi)

Spent some time today replacing both actuators and the 4WD solenoid.

The Bilsteins will be here Tuesday.

Rotors were warped and brakes were horrible. I bought Wagner rotors and had them cryogenically treated by a local guy. I went with Performance Friction carbon metalic pads. Result.........fantastic so far and eventhing is working perfectly..........man is it nice. I've been fighting the brakes for 6-8 months. I just hope I cured the dust problem.

Passenger actuator was out. While I was at it, I replaced both actuators and the solenoid. 4WD finally works the way it's supposed to.

Bilsteins 5100s will be here Tuesday and should be in before the end of the week. I have someone lined up to compress the springs.

AIR - the best project I've ever done on any vehicle. So tired of those 2-bit compressors that want $$ to use........and they never work. It's so hard to find air when you need it. Those wally world cigarette lighter jobs are about as bad. I've been through many of those.

SO.......I installed a compressor under the hood, piped in a 3 gallon aluminum tank mounted on the passenger frame rail...............and ran hose to the rear bumper where I mounted a quick connect. Now anytime I want air I just plug an air hose to my bumper. The compressor is wired in with a relay and a pressure switch on the tank shut the compressor off at 105 psi and on at 85psi. I've been reading about systems like this for several years and finally built one.