1997 - 2003 F-150

Truck bogginf down and missing

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2018, 04:01 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Truck bogginf down and missing

I'm having trouble with my 2003 F150 5.4. I'm getting P0171 and P0174 codes. I'm a contractor and use the truck a lot. It runs fine most of the day then usually on my way home it's starts to big down and seems to have a miss around 1500rpm and shuts down. I can restart the truck after a few minutes and can drive for a few minutes before it happens again. When I start the truck the next day it's fine until I come home again. I have changed the plugs and coils as well as fuel filter, cleaned the mass air flow. Any ideas? I was thinking it may be the fuel pump?

Old 11-04-2018, 04:33 PM
glc
Received 761 Likes on 704 Posts
Have you thoroughly checked for vacuum leaks?

Old 11-04-2018, 04:41 PM
I have checked the elbow on the back of the intake and used propane around the engine but couldn't find anything.

Old 11-04-2018, 07:11 PM
Received 36 Likes on 35 Posts
The 171/174 codes tell you the fuel tables are shifted RICH.
This will not show up on cold starts until the engine is fully warmed because the engine is normally set rich by the program for cold starting.
This causes poor idle and stalling due to the excess richness after full warm up. You can even hear it in the exhaust note change during warm up from a cold starts that cover up the leak..
You cannot hear/ detect air leaks with propane. It adds even more fuel the system tries to change it's settings for..
Only way to use propane is watching a Scanner for changes in the fuel tables showing the computer has detected the propane by changes in Oxygen sensors output back to the computer..
Check the PCV line and hose going to the rear of the intake for softness, a hole sucked into the hose, splits etc.
Anywhere else there is air getting in besides the normal intake tract will cause the issue.
Do not change parts until a proven need.
Find the cause first.
Good luck.