1997 - 2003 F-150

2002 Front Differential Slipping

Old 06-13-2018, 10:20 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by RoboRob79
im tempted to ask:
is it possible this truck has had an automatic locker installed in the front diff at any point in the past?
probably a stupid question to some- but i just have to ask -
I'm not sure the answer to your question. I'm not even sure how I would tell if that was the case. As my screen name indicates, I'm pretty new to trucks, so the 4x4 stuff I'm trying to figure out as I go along.

One other thing I wanted to add, I turned on the truck and engaged the 4WD today (while it was still jacked, with the tire off). With the 4wd engaged I can't turn the hub at all...except when I get the differential to "pop", then I can turn it freely (still with the clicking sound).

Old 06-13-2018, 10:26 PM
Originally Posted by Bluegrass
The bigger problem as I see it now is you still want some one to tell you what's wrong instead of learning the mechanics of what your trying to deal with.
Until you do it won't get any better.

Trying to explain this complexity through this medium and have understanding is very difficult.

You still have to act on the situation.
FROM differential toward the wheel:

The small axle with the large mounting flange has a spline that engages the differential the same way the rear end axle does. Question is, is this axle loose and moving in and out? If yes the C Clip has come off.
If NO the locking sleeve on the passenger side housing is what you might be hearing.
That suggest the Actuator arm or a fault is present.
You must get this all checked out and find the cause rather than keep asking the forum what's wrong.
Do the work.
I'm sorry if it insults you but going at it the way you have so far is not solving your problem.
Good luck.