1997 - 2003 F-150

2000 4.6 rwd Transmission Swap Auto-Manual

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2017, 10:57 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2000 4.6 rwd Transmission Swap Auto-Manual

Hey everyone, new member to the site, but I have a lot of experience on my 2000 f150 2WD. Did a bunch of work as kind of a hobby in my spare time, fixed every issue it had cheaply. Truck has paid for itself.

Now I need to make it more fun to drive, so I can put another 50000 miles on it.
Over the next 6 weeks I am looking to find parts and swap a 4.6 manual transmission into this truck.
I will put effort into the forum post updates from start to completion if this is something positive for the forum.
Also, let me know if Im way off with this:

Parts that I need to find: If you have anything, message me or post, im located in RI.
  • 99-03 4.6 m/t from a rwd truck + new output and input seals + engine rms
  • Driveshaft has to be from an identical manual truck or just the same wheelbase? (reg cab long bed)
  • Clutch assembly/flywheel/pilot bearing/fork
  • New slave cylinder/ clutch master cylinder and hoses.
  • Shift linkage and ****
  • Cut a hole in the floor
  • Put a tachometer on the dash from the auto ecu directly or send it without one
  • Manual pedal box
  • Hydraulic clutch lines and reservoir
  • Wiring:
    • Neutral. Which pins on the ecu, and where is the best place to wire in a switch. on the trans wiring or to the ecu directly? This will let me start the engine and I don't know without a schematic.
    • Reverse. Which pins on the auto trans harness go to the ecu for reverse lights. Any ideas for working reverse lights?
Will the engine be fine with the auto computer? My argument is that I can rev it in neutral and park, so it will be fine if I just trick the ecu into thinking its in park/neutral via a switch.

Last edited by 00rustycigrit; 12-11-2017 at 09:31 AM.
Old 12-10-2017, 12:35 AM
Welcome to the forum!