1997 - 2003 F-150

idling issues

Old 07-12-2017, 07:54 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
idling issues

Have a 2002 ford f-150 rwd with a 5.4 triton.

every time I take it to the garage it stops. Here is the issue

On really hot days even if I don't run the AC in when i have to sit and idle it will start dropping to a low idle and even if I put my foot on the brake it will try to lurch forward in self drive but If I am right behind someone and I can't take the foot off the brake at all it might stall all together or take off but have no power then a few seconds later the gas will work again. Because of it not doing it all the time though I have not been able to pinpoint the exact issue I thought it was a faulty gas cap and maybe rain got in the gas but I put a new cap on and it was fine after that until today. I also noticed every now and then I need to unhook my battery cables so the gas cap light will go off in the dashboard if not it will stay on. I am not a mechanic so it really is hard for me to explain the issues but maybe with more interaction I can narrow it done more.

Old 07-12-2017, 10:06 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by ucrenegade
Have a 2002 ford f-150 rwd with a 5.4 triton.

every time I take it to the garage it stops. Here is the issue