New Brakes Not Working Properly

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2002, 10:28 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry New Brakes Not Working Properly

In late March, I went to "Just Brakes" to fix a squeeling issue w/ my brakes. I had 50k miles on it, and got a complete brake job (new pads, turned rotors, etc.) done (first brake job for this truck). I drove from Houston, TX to Florida and back (approx 2k miles roundtrip) and upon my return, my truck would vibrate when I applied my brakes. I took it back to Just Brakes, and they said they couldn't figure out what was wrong, and re-turned the rotors and cleaned up the pads. Now, the truck is vibrating again and now squeeling.

I read some posts and articles on this site, and read about rotors that continually warp, quickly.

Did Just Brakes do a bad job? Or is this a Ford issue?

I'm not a mechanic, but just a woman trying to figure out if I'm getting screwed by Just Brakes. I wouldn't expect that a new brake job would go bad after just 4 months and 8k miles later.

Any help or information would be extremely appreciated.

- Jen

Old 08-07-2002, 11:49 AM
You will likely end up with a new set of rotors.

Did you make any 'panic stops' or long downhill brake applications during your trip?

It sounds like the brakes were not burnished-in (fancy term meaning worn/baked in) well. There's usually no instruction given to the owner (you) by the repair shop -- but brakes like being gently worn in -- takes a couple hundred miles of mild stop & go.

Obviously, you use your brakes as needed -- but generally, one doesn't want to do any 'performance braking' until things are cooked in.