New Brake lines, New Master Brake Cylinder, now no pressure

Old 05-07-2010, 12:23 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New Brake lines, New Master Brake Cylinder, now no pressure

Ok this is on my 97 F150. I had a leak in my line because of age and rust. I replaced all the hard lines and rubber lines. I got a new master brake cylinder, bench bled it. Installed everything and for the next 3 yours trying to get the brakes to keep pressure. The pedal does not get hard.

We bled the lines in the correct order and with the car on and off.

Now, when you have the car onand you remove the vacum line from the brake booster I have a very nice feeling brake pedal and the brakes work. As soon as you plug the vacum line in, the pedal looses pressure. It still sayes up but if you press down it goes to the floor.

I thouhgt maybe it was a bad Master brake cylinder, so I put the old one back on. With the old one on, i get the ABS and BRAKE light that stay on. Tried bleeing it several times too with the car on and off.

I did adjust the boost rod a little.

Any suggestions what to check or the cause could be?
I'm not leaking any fluids and when you bleed the brakes you get good fluid.

Latly, I dont think this has anything to do with it, but does anyone know why the brakes lines have the swirl effect on the front lines? Instead of straight down from the Master Brake Cylinder.

Thanks, looking forward to hearing back.

Old 05-07-2010, 02:56 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts