Road/Tire Noise help

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2005, 11:53 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Road/Tire Noise help

Ok i've search but couldn't find the answer. I use to have a stock Michelins 255/65/17 and it rides quietly no noise. Then i put a stock FX4 tires Goodyear Wrangler A/T 275/65/18 with 2k miles on it. Since i put the Goodyear tires, i started having tire or road noise especially on the driver side, not sure about the passenger side since i'm not on that side . Any fix on this? Or is Goodyear louder than Michelin? Tire rotation maybe or get a different brand of tires. I also tends to collect more dirt on my left front side since i install the 2" leveling kit. It's starting to annoy me. Tire experts i need some advice . Any input will help.
Thanks

Old 11-24-2005, 01:45 AM
Well I'm no tire expert but I believe the bf goodrich has a more agressive tread design and the rubber might be a bit harder maybe the load rating is different??. Usually when I look at michelin's their tires seem to be very low-key and for maximum comfort with very smooth surface type patterns. Mud terrains, and rock crawlers have the big lugs and open spots that create the noise. I think it's due to the change type of tire. Just my 2 cents. Good luck.

Old 11-24-2005, 02:21 AM
I finally put out the money and bought a set of michelins for my Explorer last year. By far it is the quietest tire I have ever had before and it is what I will be using from now on.

Old 11-24-2005, 08:34 AM
Talking

It is probably the:

1. Treads on the tires.

2. rotors. They are probably warped.

Old 11-24-2005, 09:27 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
The tires may be worn unevenly. I've heard cupped out all terrian tires that sounded like Super Swampers.

Old 11-25-2005, 08:27 PM