Brake Pad Life

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2005, 08:27 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Brake Pad Life

Pardon me if this has been asked and answered in a thread. My search did not turn up an answer to my questions.

I have a new 2005 F-150 Supercab XLT. I am new to Trucks, Fords and for that matter domestic vehicles. I am enjoying every drive. I need a download of "There's Someting About a Pickup Man."

First, what is your experience with brake life in miles for pads and rotors on an F-150? My wife's car is a Mecedes-Benz ML320. That thing needs front pads about every 12,000 miles and new rotors every 24,000 to 36,000 miles. Rear pads last a bit longer but rotor life is about the same.

The F-150 is about 1500 lbs heavier so I would like to get a clue as to what to expect.

We live in an area hard on brakes - the hilly coastal area of California.

Second, how do you know that you need new pads before metal hits metal?

Benz cars have a sensor and a warning light to tell you the pads are low. Our mechanic checks the pads at each oil change but with 10,000 plus between changes using synthetic oil, the pads sometimes get low before an inspection. I had a Land Rover Discovery POS that had no warning system for low pads whatsoever. I found out one day when I heard an awful grinding sound that wiped out the rotors whether or not they would otherwise need changing. I understand that low pads are designed to vibrate on some makes. I can find no reference to any warning for low pads in the manual.

Thanks for you help.

PS the mechanics in my independent Mercedes-Benz garage swear that the F-150 is the best truck on the road today by far.

Old 07-25-2005, 08:38 PM
Location: about 45 miles from our great states capitle. We live 1/2 mile off the trail, God's country.
Brake pads