FYI: Hope this helps others!!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2016, 10:29 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
FYI: Hope this helps others!!!

I am hoping that this information I am about to put out here, will help others with the problem I had with my 2013 F-150 XLT, 5.0. This problem is not isolated to F150's, it has affected Ford vehilces. By all means, I am not a machanic, just a DIY type of guy.

Problem: Keep getting codes P2196/2198 and P172/175. Sometimes all, sometimes some. I knew what these codes were and how to fix them. Well, it was not what I thought it was.

Problem found: So I did more research on here and other web sites until I found exactly what was happening to my truck on a Ford Escape web site. Don't know how I got to that site, but it sure as heck solved the problem. As I stated above, I'm no mechanic, but this is what I found.

Problem solved: It was the Vapor Canister Purge Valve. Yes a simple $20.00 part.

Cause: Many reasons, according to what I have read. First, one Senior Mechanic stated that Ford should had never changed those from the old style as the old one hardly went bad. These new ones go bad all the time. Also found out that if you fill up your tank to the rim (as I do) it will cause the valve to go bad. I noticed that when I filled up and started my truck, it will not start right away and will run ruff sometimes.

Bottom Line: Don't fill up to the rim....LOL It has been 3 months since I replaced the Purge Valve and not a problem and no codes. There was more information that I read but way to much to put on here. I am hoping that just the basic info I put above will help others.

Old 10-18-2016, 10:50 PM
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Thanks for posting. Not many people take the time to post the solution to their problem. Do you know when Ford switched from the old style canister to the new one? Also what seems to be happening with them?

Old 10-18-2016, 11:07 PM
Received 220 Likes on 200 Posts
Thanks for the information!