Doubt on oil type and clatter noise (5.4L)

Old 10-05-2010, 02:10 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Doubt on oil type and clatter noise (5.4L)

Hello;

I own a Lariat CrewCab 06 4x4 5.4L, it has 60k miles, I use Castrol Syntec 5w30, the oil changes are 6K miles. Since two weeks ago I hear a clatter noise on the first 5-10 seconds when the engine is started, it happens in the mornings only and after this time the noise disappears.

My questions are:

Is there a risk to make a damage to the engine during the time of the noise?, is it normal?
can I do something to avoid this noise, like to change the oil weight/brand/type or use an oil additive as Lucas oil, Prolong, etc.? (I have never used it before)

Any comments and suggestions will be welcome !

Thank you in advance for your answers.

J.Leal

Old 10-05-2010, 02:26 PM
I have almost the exact same truck as you miles,year everything. I used motorcraft 5-20 and i'll get the same noise every once in a while on a cold start but it doesn't last nowhere near 5-10 seconds..maybe 3 at the most.

Old 10-05-2010, 02:51 PM
Originally Posted by mmelton005
I have almost the exact same truck as you miles,year everything. I used motorcraft 5-20 and i'll get the same noise every once in a while on a cold start but it doesn't last nowhere near 5-10 seconds..maybe 3 at the most.
Mmelton005, yes you are correct, the noise last around 3 seconds only, I made a mistake on the original post. But is it normal?

Thank you for your comment.

Regards,
J.Leal.

Old 10-05-2010, 02:53 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Since your 06 is a 3 valve you should probably use the 5w20 that is recomended for your motor and make sure you are running 7 quarts. Some oil change places try to get away with putting less in.

What oil filter are you using?

There are only a few out there with the proper anti-drainback valve. I was using a Wix on mine which is supposed to be one of the good ones but I switched back to the Motorcraft and noticed a difference.