Most difficult oil change of my life

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2007, 11:57 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs down Most difficult oil change of my life

I just finished the first oil change on my 07 5.4 last night. Now let me clarify that I am never going to win any awards for mechanical aptitude, but with that said I have been changing my own oil for 10 years on many different vehicles and I'd like to think I've got the process down pat. My F-150 proved me wrong.

In the "what were they thinking?" category.....
  • What kind of a location is that for an oil filter? There is no good way to get at if from the top or the bottom! From the bottom, I can get my hands on the filter, but with my trusty channel-lock pliers that have never failed me before, there were only two scenarios. Scenario #1 - Good grip with the channel-lock pliers but no room to turn, or scenario #2 - room to maneouvre the pliers but terrible grip on the filter.
  • Similar to the above question, why would they not design the filter so that the oil "drips" close to the same location as from the oil pan? In every other vehicle I have owned, I could use one oil pan to catch drips from both sources. Not so on this truck.
  • Why do they let Hercules install the oil filters at the factory?

2 hours after starting the job, I completed my first oil change on this truck. After resigning myself to the fact that there was no way I was getting the filter off with my pliers or hands, I went back to the fail-safe hammer and screwdriver. Even that proved to be difficult.

From the bottom, I got the screwdriver into the filter but had no room to turn it. So I changed the angle of the screwdriver to give me a little maneouvrability, but this resulted in such a poor turning angle on the filter that I actually ended up bending the screwdriver instead of turning the filter.