Curious

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2007, 06:29 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Curious

Can anyone give me any insight on using Seafoam or duralube to flush the crankcase? What about other crankcase additives?

Old 01-09-2007, 02:47 PM
I have lots of seafoam experience with various vehicles.

You want to take you brake booster hose line off, and let you manifold suck it through the engine untill the motor dies. If the vehicle dies before at least half the bottle is sucked up, start her up, and shove the tube back in the bottle. Once enough is gone, you can pour some in your crank case, and if there is a little left over, you can run it in your gas.

Let your car sit for 5-10 minutes after it dies (seafoam is cleaning), start her up, and watch the smoke show. Let your car idle out a good amount of smoke, you can also then give your motor different rpms, and more smoke will appear.

I have never ran it in my crank case, but I may give it a try. It's supposed work great in there. Just do it within a reasonable time frame of your next oild change.

Old 01-09-2007, 03:48 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
do NOT put seafoam in your crankcase. dont even bother with that dura lube stuff.

Old 01-10-2007, 10:15 AM
OK, may I ask why? I have read several articles abut using it right before an oil change, specificly on an enginr that has been dirty for awhile. When I bought this truck it looked like the oil hadn't been changed in awhile so I was just looking to clean it out a little. Any suggestions here?

Old 01-10-2007, 12:40 PM
you have a 97 250?? is that a 5.8??. how is the oil pressure??? any valvetrain noise?? if not just a good oil and a quality filter is all you need.sea foam is ok to use down the brake booster hose but not the crankcase.

Old 01-10-2007, 01:11 PM