Help need better gas mileage

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2006, 12:56 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Help need better gas mileage

Ok guys newbie here just bought my 1st truck 06 150 5.4 supercab. I upgraded from an 02 acura TL with great gas mileage. Needless to say I bought the truck with the big 20's and 35.7 gal tank. Im not used to paying over a $100 a fill up and getting less than 15 miles per gal. Looking for some cheap ways to increase gas mileage. Any suggestions

Old 07-01-2006, 08:34 AM
Congratulations on the new truck.

Keep in mind that your truck is in the 6000 lb range and not a 2500 pound honda.

the first peice of advice, slow down. Cruising @ 65-70, rather than 75-80 should help you gain a few mpg's.

Second, use a good quality fuel. the cheapo gas station may not turn out to be that cheap if your gas mileage drops with the fuel quality.

Add-ons or changes that actually increase your HP (or reduce parasidic HP loss) can result in fuel savings, but you still need to follow the first two suggestions to maintain those gains. Although, most of these are not cheap.

Old 07-01-2006, 08:48 AM
Also, keep your truck properly maintained. Fuel filter, air filter, etc. Keep tires properly inflated and lose any extra junk you keep in your truck (golf clubs, tool boxes, etc) Most importantly, like mentioned above, go easy on the long skinny pedal.

Old 07-01-2006, 09:05 AM
I agreem travelled from AZ to IN, and kept running at 65-70, 19 mpg

now, with the lift and 35"...in town 13 mpg maybe 13.5

Old 07-01-2006, 01:37 PM
Did you find an increase in mileage with the exhaust. I have read that it increases gas milage or that just a bunch of BS. Thanks for the tips

Old 07-01-2006, 02:10 PM