Plugs on 5.4

Old 02-16-2006, 08:37 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Plugs on 5.4

Ok i kind of feel like a fool actually posting this but along with my other mods i want to change the plugs and wires on my 02 5.4 but i cannot find the things. I have looked everywhere. I am not a mechanic by any means but i do have enough common sense to do simple things little oil changes and plug changes. If someone could tell me where they are or post some pics on this it would be greatly appreciated.

Old 02-16-2006, 09:26 AM
The 5.4l has a Coil-over-plug ignition. You do not have traditional spark plug wires. The coil is the round black thing over each cylinder. You have to remove each coil (each one is secured by one screw), and the plug is recessed into the head. You'll need a couple of extensions and probably a universal joint. Also its a good idea to tape up the joints so that extensions and sockets dont get seperated in the plug well.

If you do a search, there are many more posts with more detailed instructions.
Here's a site that has some tips (it used to have some video clips but it looks like they are down)
http://home.midsouth.rr.com/lightnin...parkplugs.html

Old 02-16-2006, 09:31 AM
Originally Posted by Need4Beer
Ok i kind of feel like a fool actually posting this but along with my other mods i want to change the plugs and wires on my 02 5.4 but i cannot find the things. I have looked everywhere. I am not a mechanic by any means but i do have enough common sense to do simple things little oil changes and plug changes. If someone could tell me where they are or post some pics on this it would be greatly appreciated.