questions about heads and a head swap

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2005, 09:37 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
questions about heads and a head swap

I am going to do a head swap in my truck. It is a 97 4.6 Windsor. I am going to go with the PI heads. Will these heads work? I am going to change the cams also. Is there any difference between the romeo and windsor heads besides the valve cover bolt pattern? I am also wondering if those are windsor or romeo heads in the link above. I am also wondering if I need to replace the intake manifold also. I'm sure I have to but I decided to ask. Does anybody know the chamber volume of the stock heads that are installed right now? I am also going to change the chains and probably the oil pump since I'll have the front cover off.

Now some questions about the task itself. How long will it take? I've never done this before but I should have some help. What all needs to be removed to do this? I'm sure it is easier with the motor out but I don't want to do that if I don't have to.

Here is a list of what stuff that I think/know I'll need. Feel free to add to the list.

Gaskets
Upper & lower intake
Head bolts/studs - probably ARP
Crank pulley bolt

Things I might/will change while it is apart. Feel free to add to the list.

Thermostat
Oil pump
Injectors
Exhaust manifolds for headers

Last edited by King James; 07-24-2005 at 01:36 PM.
Old 07-24-2005, 10:21 AM
Yes those heads will work. But sometimes you can find the same ones on evay for much cheaper.

Yes you will want to replace the intake manifold to see full benefit of the new heads. You'll need new gaskets as well, and new bolts.

Most of your questions are answered in here:
https://www.f150online.com/forums/sh...highlight=head

I havent seen anybody on here that has done the swap not be able to get it done with the engine still in the truck.

Old 07-24-2005, 12:54 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post