EGR Problems...I think

Old 10-31-2003, 06:43 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry EGR Problems...I think

Rough running '92 5.0...Check engine light comes on when engine's hot. Exhaust really smells...Ran KOEO test and got 173 (HEGO sensor-voltage singnal indicates "rich" (Bank #1)); 327 (EGR Valve Position (EVP) Sensor - signal votage too low; and 337 (EGR Valve Position (EVP) Sensor - signal voltage too high. Will replacing EGR Valve and/or EVP sensor likely fix this or am I barking up the wrong tree? Could bad fuel pump cause this or would other codes show up if this were the case? Any advice would be great...I'm a very AMATEUR mechanic.

Old 10-31-2003, 07:53 PM
Hopefully someone that is more mechanically inclined than me will chime in as well but I do think you need to either clean or replace the EGR valve assembly. You will also want to clean the intake area behind the butterfly valve. Don't do this with harsh chemicals or solvents. I have heard that mineral spirits are about as harsh as you want to go on it. Also check your oxygen sensors.

Old 10-31-2003, 10:52 PM
Hmm well a bad fuel pump won't cause the engine to run rich, I would clean/replace EGR valve, sensor.... and reset codes then go from there... rough running is most likely the egr system...

Old 11-01-2003, 12:48 AM
I think it is just carbon on the EGR stem. Probably will clean by just opening it with it off the engine.

tom

Old 11-01-2003, 01:41 AM
The EVP voltage is easy to check. Use a digital volt ohm meter ( DVOM) and remove the sensor from the top of the valve. check the voltage while you slowly push up on the pintle of the sensor. most EGR problems are caused by the valve getting carboned up and not closing all the way, causing a lean condition. It is poss. that the passages are completely closed and the valve is not moving ( might throw EVP codes that way, but I would check the sensor first.

Old 11-02-2003, 12:20 AM
Angry Was not totally EGR Valve